Resurfacing…

It has been over a YEAR since I posted. It seems hard to believe that, but it is true. This year has been beyond description—the things that really matter have been underground, wordless, shapeless. I have tried to describe them to others, but I find that the only way someone understands is if they have had the same sort of experiences in their lives.

Mysterious healing of old wounds and rifts. Moments of deep depression and anxiety. Experiences of the rightness of the entire journey. Accepting that I am loved beyond measure; recognizing that we all are. Surrendering to trust in the Mystery: it prescribes the perfect journey for me. No other path is needed.

As I emerge, it is indeed like that well-worn metaphor of the caterpillar and the butterfly. Without longing for the cycle to cease, I trust the arising and also the descent. Light and dark. The great blessing of being human.  To be caterpillar and butterfly, and then again—caterpillar, butterfly. Every day, til the heart stops beating, the cycle will carry me, sing to me, call me home to my own heart. It’s not a place of perfect joy. It’s a place of emotional range and brilliant experience.

Hello. Welcome back to my blog. And welcome home to your life. How’s things with you?

3 thoughts on “Resurfacing…”

  1. I’m with you. As Scarlett O’Hara said at the end of “Gone with the Wind,” – “Tomorrow is another day.” Reemergence is a word I like, both in how it sounds and in its deep and broad meaning. Personally, 2013 was a very tough year – not without its charms, but often brutal and inhumane. That said, I have the hope and desire for 2014 to be wonderful – even though I’m sure there will be tough times here and there as well. They say life is about the journey, not the destination and, as hokey as that sounds, it is so TRUE. So here’s to our respective journeys and I’m looking forward to reading your blog to see how it’s going (and may drop a reply here and there to add some of mine too).

Leave a Reply

