There’s something about scheduling

Ok peeps, what the heck am I gonna do about this? I seriously want to have a regular schedule each day, for writing and school work and reading. But I am stuck when I try to figure it out.

It does not seem it ought to be so difficult. I wonder if I have some kind of weird learning disability with relation to this issue as it has always been hard for me. I know most of us have trouble with so-called procrastination. But right now, it’s not that I don’t want to do it. I really want to do it. I am dying to dive in.

So I’m not sure what the issue is. I can’t seem to just get started or see where or how to block this out. I remember my dad, a professional writer his whole life, telling me that you have to make a time to write, a time to work, that you stick to pretty much the same way you would if you had an outside employer. You have to show up at a certain time and stay until a certain time. And work while you are there.

All the other stuff I read about writing and a writer’s life pretty much says the same thing. I feel that is true. So now, how to do it.

If any of you artists and writers and musicians and self-employed out there have any suggestions, please let me know.

Meantime, the classes are great and it’s finally raining in California, which makes me happy. The rainfall is not as high as predicted, so drought still looms on our horizon, despite the refusal of most to acknowledge it. I turn the water off while I’m brushing my teeth. That’s my little part for making the world a better place.

Okay, it’s 8:53 am. I’m going to have breakfast, do a hot tub in the rain, brush my teeth and start writing at 9:00 am. Work til noon. Maybe it’s that simple.

3 thoughts on “There’s something about scheduling”

  1. Katie – here’s a simple way to do it: No fun till work is done. You decide what work is – and “work” isn’t a four letter word for odious tasks unless you make it be. If you want to go to school, you want to write, then you do that before you have fun. For instance, you said you’re going to have breakfast, do a hot tub in the rain and start writing at 9. If it was me, I’d brush my teeth and start writing immediately (actually, this morning I wrote before I brushed my teeth, but I only jotted down a few paragraphs to get to later). If hot tubbing is what you include in work, then go for it – but I suspect it isn’t.

    For me, “work” is something I enjoy – taking care of the horses and other critters plus the writing. But I have set priorities – work for pay comes immediately after caring for critters and before work on speculation (that is, work I don’t have an immediate paying client for).

    I think you need to identify what you really mean by work, and then set your schedule and stick to it.

  2. I may be way off base here, but I’d guess you’re afraid. You’re afraid that what you write may not be good, and so it’s easier just not to write. You want to. Oh, you want to, but you don’t want to have to read and judge your work. Because you know you don’t have enough practice or experience for it to be as good as you want it to be.

    May I suggest then that you write not to read it. Fix a time (first thing with a coffee in the morning for me) and dedicate twenty minutes to it. Whatever you get down in that time, albeit one sentence, that’s it. Then stash it away in a drawer or in a folder on your computer and walk away from it. Or load it onto your blog and forget about it. Don’t read it again, but show up to the paper the next day. Before long, your writing will improve and you will enjoy your own work, and will not feel bad about your days when your writing is not great because you will know you can always edit or rewrite your weaker work later.

    Just remember, as long as you are afraid, you will not write. Lose the fear by losing your own judgement first.

Leave a Reply

