being an artist

.

Starting with a period. Because something has ended.

Just finished the first week of classes.  Two writing classes, Memoir and Screenwriting. By the end of the semester I will have some part of a memoir written, and one full length screenplay. OH MY GOD!

One black and white photography class. Yes, film. Yes, darkroom.

One Intro to Digital Media class. The basics of graphic design and an introduction Adobe Creative Suite 5. Website, anyone?

And still waiting to see if I get into one intro to digital photography class. Just the basics, ma’am.

The hardest new thing I’ve learned so far is from my digital media class. Turns out, on a computer you only put ONE space after a period. Weird. I have been programmed to type two spaced after a period since Dad taught me to type on his old manual typewriter when I was, what—oh, I don’t know, maybe 8, 10 years old? So hitting the return key only one time seems against some kind of religious code or something. But I can do it. I know I can. I’ve learned to not drink and not smoke and I’ve even gone periods of time without sugar or coffee. That all had to be preparing me for something big. And here it is. Typing only one space after a period. This will be the big accomplishment of my life.

But, seriously, folks. Hi there. I know it’s been a while. I’m well into 2011, as of course you are, too. How is it going for you? For me, it’s going to be the best year yet. I know it. I can feel it in my bones. I’ve finally arrived in my life. Talk about the ugly duckling. It’s all here, it’s all happening, the life I’ve always wanted to live is finally being lived. I have to pinch myself sometimes to believe it’s real.

I am so excited to be in these classes. I feel like I’m shaking inside sometimes. What a gift. What an amazing gift to be able to live this life in this way. I am so grateful. Grateful for the freedom to live my own life, to control my own money, to choose not to have children, to be able to return to school, to live where I want. To see the ocean every day, to go to sleep to the sounds of great horned owls, to wake to the shrill call of hawks and the funny, loud warble of California quail. What a great blessing. Finally, I am able to feel it.

I am going to sleep now. And with great excitement I look forward to writing the first pages of a screenplay this weekend. Hope you too are fully awake and appreciating all that you have.

6 thoughts on “being an artist”

  1. Don’t worry Katie – I’ve been programming and doing web pages for years. You can still type in two spaces most of the time… the programs we all use just ignore them!

    Keep on having fun – you’re taking quite the work load. I took a B&W film class back in the 70s when I was going to Berkeley – I loved it – but to do everything you’re doing well, you’ll have to put in lots and lots of hours, but that’ll be good, too!

    1. Thanks, Lif. Yes, I’m looking forward to hours and hours lost in the darkroom. I’ve always wanted to do that. Good to know about the period. Seems my teacher thinks it’s some kind of a big deal, though.

  2. Oh what a lovely read UMA!!! It is so amazing to hear about and know that you are finally living your life!! It makes me bubble inside with excitement.
    I also think this year is one of the best years in my life thus far. So many incredible opportunities have presented themselves to me in the dance world and i am so thrilled to be Lindsay!
    Well i am so happy you started this blog. And for the record, i still type 2 spaces after a period. But that could be because i still have to type papers for school and subconsciously i type the 2 spaces because sometimes a 5-page paper seems way too long and having that 1 extra space makes the pages fill up faster. I don’t know, but I still do it regardless.
    Take care and lots of love to you!

  3. One space after a period … what kind of craziness is that?!!! In any case, YAY yay yay for living and celebrating the life you want to live! Can’t wait to see all that 2011 brings to you:)

Leave a Reply

