not to say things to completion

“This is the way of Zen, not to say things to their completion.”  ~ XXI Completion, The Transcendental Game of Zen, Osho (The Zen Tarot)

for a budding writer, this is a truth that that always bears repeating

This morning I sit in the house I am soon to leave, and pull a couple of cards from the Osho Zen Tarot deck.  The card, “Completion,” comes up.  The sense of it, so perfect, that something is finished, like the last piece of a jigsaw puzzle.  It is time to start a new game.

And with that thought, I take a sip of coffee.  Wondering what comes next in this adventure.  Last night we had a little dinner celebration at my house, just a few friends and, as usual, an excess of healthy foods and not-so-healthy-but-exquisite dessert.  It was lovely.  And bittersweet.  I picked up Jake from his new home and brought him for the party.  It was really slammed home to me how much happier he is with his new family than he was with me.  Not that he didn’t have a good life with me, but the stability and large presence of a family and wall-to-wall carpeting seems to agree with him entirely.  I brought him back there as they were cleaning up dinner.  Sherrie’s mother was over and she exclaimed, “Jake is home!”  He whined and wiggled with delight to see them all, pressed up against Keith’s legs for petting and then scrambled past us into the kitchen where Zeric was loading the dishwasher.  As I left, I could see him hard at work cleaning up the kitchen floor.  This is a very important job for a dog.  Did I cry as I drove home?  Well, I will leave that up to your imagination.

“Whatever has been absorbing your time and energy is now coming to an end…clearing the space for something new to begin…celebrate both–the end of the old and the coming of the new.”

Today Adyashanti is giving satsang, and I am doing the flowers for his sidetable, for the last time.  I only just started volunteering for that, and now I’m giving it up.  Fast cycles these days.  Adyashanti “dares all seekers of peace and freedom to take the possibility of liberation seriously.”  Okay, I’m down for that.

Jen is making toast, Daria is eating cereal, I’m blogging.  Have a sweet day, friends.

2 thoughts on “not to say things to completion”

  1. oh miss Uma, such sweet truth in this post. So many gems. Reading your quote and accompanying story has shown me release as well. Truly poignant 🙂 miss you hugs v

Leave a Reply

